# Side Agreement on the Implementation of Sarajevo Protocol, 27 March 1997

# Side Agreement on the Implementation of Sarajevo Protocol

- 1. The composition of the City Council and the distribution of the delegates from the four municipalities until the next municipal elections shall be as outlined in the two Annexes.
- 2. The parties shall submit names of their nominated delegates including nationality and municipality by 26 March 1997.\*
- 3. This Side Agreement, the draft amendments to the Federation Constitution and the Constitution of the Sarajevo Canton as well as the draft City Statute shall be endorsed as a package by the leaders of the political parties represented in the Commission by 27 March 1997.
- 4. The four municipalities shall elect the candidates in line with agreed nominations by 2 April 1997.\*
- 5. The agreed amendments to the Constitutions on Sarajevo parallel to the Mostar amendments shall be adopted by the Federation House of Representatives and Federation House of Peoples, and the Cantonal Assembly by 9 April 1997.
- 6. The inaugural session of the City Council of Sarajevo shall be held on 10 April 1997 to adopt the City Statute and to elect the Mayor of Sarajevo and the two Deputy Mayors.
- 7. The Mayor of Sarajevo, nominated by the strongest single party in the City Council after consultations with the other parties represented in the Commission for the

- Implementation of the Sarajevo Protocol, has to be a widely respected personality who is devoted to the multi-ethnic character of the City.
- 8. The Mayor will appoint, in accordance with Article 36 of the City Statute, the Heads of Departments within 30 days after his election.
- 9. The Commission shall continue to foster the implementation of the Sarajevo Protocol.
- 10. A decision on the State District will be taken after agreement in the Common Institutions of BiH.
- 11. All arrangements made by the Commission for the Implementation of the Sarajevo Protocol shall be reviewed at the end of the current Cantonal legislation period in the light of the practical experience on the ground.
- \* The nomination by the parties of their delegates to the City Council from the municipality of Novo Sarajevo shall not be interpreted as a recognition of the legitimacy of the Municipal Council of Novo Sarajevo which is denied by SDP and UBSD.

### Understanding on Novo Sarajevo

The undersigned agreed to the following:

- 1. The Office of the High Representative shall provide a solution for the disputed mandates in the Municipal Council of Novo Sarajevo on the basis of the law. The solution provided by the OHR shall be binding and final.
- 2. The present Mayor of Novo Sarajevo shall keep his office until the next municipal elections and will not be challenged in the Municipal Council.
- 3. The Municipal Council shall elect a member of the SDP as chair by April 9, 1997.

Edhem Bicakcic	Zlatko Lagumdzija	Nermin Pecanac
SDA	SDP	UBSD

Sarajevo, 27 March 1997

#### Witnessed by:

Ambassador Michael Steiner
Principal Deputy High Representative

#### Annex I

## Composition of the City Council (28 members)

#### By political party:

HDZ	3
SBiH	1
SDA1	12
SDP2	7
UBSD2	5

#### By nationality:

Bosniacs	16
Croats	6
Others	6

#### Distribution regarding the four municipalities:

Centar			Novo Sarajevo	
HDZ	1		HDZ	1
SBiH	0		SBiH	0
SDA	3		SDA	3
SDP	1		SDP	2
UBSD	2		UBSD	1
Novi Grad			Stari Grad	
HDZ	1		HDZ	0

SBiH	0	SBiH	1
SDA	3	SDA	3
SDP	2	SDP	2
UBSD	1	UBSD	1

- 1. It is understood that at least two out of these 12 Members shall belong to the group of "Others".
- 2. It is understood that at least three out of the 12 members of SDP and UBSD shall belong to the group of Croats, and four to the group of "Others"

#### Annex II

### Names of candidates for the City Council

#### **CENTAR:**

HDZ	(1)	Mario Landeka
SDA	(3)	Enes Sarac
		Nermin Eminovic
		Enes Cengic
SDP	(1)	SDP
UBSD	(2)	Arif Baksic
		Tihomir Pozun

#### **NOVI GRAD:**

HDZ	(1)	Zeljko Jukic
SDA	(3)	Sevkija Okeric Halil Bjelak Jasmin Klico
SDP	(2)	SDP SDP
UBSD	(1)	Mile Bajcetic

#### **NOVO SARAJEVO:**

HDZ	(1)	Anto Zelic
SDA	(3)	Sedika Omerbegovic
		Adem Halilagic
		Ejup Trako
SDP	(2)	SDP
		SDP
UBSD	(1)	Milorad Kasabasic

#### STARI GRAD:

SBiH	(1)	Fehim Skaljic
SDA	(3)	Sabina Berbic
		Tarik Poturovic
		Senad Pecar
SDP	(2)	SDP
		SDP
UBSD	(1)	Edhem Biber

Organisation of Sarajevo ( 1 )

### Office of the High Representative