## Governing Council of Federation RTV Established

The High Representative, Wolfgang Petritsch, yesterday issued a Decision, naming the entire Governing Council of the Radio-Television of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, in order to expedite the establishment of genuine public broadcasting in Bosnia and Herzegovina and in the Federation in particular.

The High Representative was forced to take this step after the Federation Parliament failed to appoint seven members of the 21-member Council as required by theLaw on RTV FBiH, despite repeated appeals from the Office of the High Representative. The deadline for the Parliament to agree on the seven names expired on 8 October. The Law required the High Representative to name the remaining 14 members for the Council's first fouryear term.

Any further delay would jeopardise the right of citizens to have access to public broadcasting that operates in accordance with the Law and which fully represents the cultural diversity of the Federation and of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The High Representative has named Tadej Labernik of Slovenia, who is the chairman of the Founding Board of the Public Broadcasting Service of Bosnia and Herzegovina, as the international supervisor of the Federation RTV Council. In accordance with the Law, the international supervisor is obliged to ensure that international principles of public broadcasting are respected and that the Law's key provisions are implemented.

The Decision also requires public electric companies in the Federation to comply with their obligations under the Law. The High Representative set a deadline of 29 January, 2000, for the electric companies to secure arrangements for the raising of subscription fees.

The High Representative views the development of genuine public service broadcasting as crucial to building a stable peace in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Radio and Television supported by taxpayers must be free of direct political control and financially transparent.

The High Representative's Decision enters into force today.

The members of the Governing Council of Federation RTV are:

NAME	CANTON No	OCCUPATION
1. Azrija Piralic	1	Professor of history and oriental studies
2. Nedzad Fejzic	4	Writer
3. Dubravko Lovrenovic	4	Professor of history at the Faculty of Philosophy
4. Mustafa Hubjar	6	Physician
5. Branka Praljak	6	Lawyer
6. Miro Sirovina	2	Writer
7. Faruk Cupina	7	Lawyer
8. Mirjana Deftedarevic	7	Lawyer
9. Slavo Kukic	8	Psychology professor
10. Fatmir Alispahic	3	Writer
11. Kemal Hrustanovic	9	Set designer
12. Dunja Blazevic	9	Art historian
13. Zlatko Dizdarevic	9	Journalist
14. Marko Orsolic	9	Professor of religious studies

In order to remedy to the failure of the Parliament of the FBiH to fulfill its obligations under Article 44 of the Law,

and taking into account the criteria established by its Article 45, the following persons are also appointed as members of the RTV FBiH Council:

NAME	CANTON No	OCCUPATION
1. Zlata Pojskic	4	Free lance journalist
2. Slavko Klisura	5	Journalist
3. Bozo Misura	7	Lawyer
4. Jago Musa	7	Professor of Croatian language
5. Boris Tihi	9	Economist, Dean of Business School
6. Enes Durakovic	9	Professor of Literature
7. Josip Trboglav	10	Economist